Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
07-18-2017, 05:17 AM   #1

Can I lock the AE in MF mode in Manual?

Greetings,
I am still new to my k-x. I prefer MF mode for shooting but I'm not sure it functions always right. Since some time I am trying to make the jump from A and S mode to M. Just tried to make different exposures of some stuff in my house using spot meter in M mode in MF. I focus with half-presiing the shutter and lock the exposure using the AEL/AF button. A star (sign for AEL) appears but EV continues to change while I am recomposing the scene. Is that normal? As I said I am not used to M yet and although I read some books about exposure, there are many things which are still blurry to me.
Thanks,
Kiril

07-18-2017, 05:36 AM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
In M mode the exposure depends on the shutter speed and aperture you've selected (and also the ISO of course), so as long as you don't change the settings, your exposure will inherently be locked. However, ambient light levels will of course change, so you need to adjust your parameters accordingly if you want to maintain proper lighting.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
07-18-2017, 07:19 AM - 1 Like   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
As Adam said, in M exposure mode the exposure meter itself will change as you move the camera from a light to dark scene, but the exposure value (Tv and Av) you have selected wont change.