Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-03-2008, 10:26 PM   #1
Forum Member

Please help a K10D n00b with aperture and shutter speed

Hi all,

Just got a K10D last week and took it into the mountains of central Taiwan for some practice. I'm new to SLR's and "hands on" photography. I was pretty impressed with what I got shooting in green mode with the Sigma 17-70mm zoom lens. However, I feel that due to the wide variety of lighting I was shooting in (forest of various density as well as exposed mountain sides, weather was sunny but overcast and glary etc.) many of my shots were improperly exposed. I feel that if I was able to adjust aperture and shutter speed properly, my shots would have been better.

Can someone give me a few pointers on how aperture and shutter speed interact in the above shooting conditions? Also, would I get pretty good results just shooting in aperture priority and letting the camera select shutter speed? Or, am I on the wrong track and need to just manually adjust my exposure value?

Any help would be appreciated, I really want to learn the basics of photography and get the most out of this excellent (if fickle) camera.

09-03-2008, 11:27 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
First, grab a copy of Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson and read it cover to cover. Great book with lots of info packed into 150 or so pages. Then get out and shoot, and shoot, and shoot some more.

90% of the battle with getting the "correct" exposure is seeing the situation through the view finder, and that takes practice. Over time, once you really understand the exposure triangle (ISO-Aperture-Shutter), it will begin to become instinctive to know how to compensate.
09-04-2008, 12:21 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Taiwan can get very hot and brighten the image a lot so you need to shoot when the sun is setting.