Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
04-03-2018, 07:11 AM   #1
Forum Member

Portrait Photography

Hello there,

I have been a hobbyist for about 4 years now and after the encouragement of a lot of friends, decided to try this professionally. I landed a contract with a local media agency that connects freelancers to local newspapers and it's been a lot of fun. I continue to meet people and network and I keep noticing something.A lot of people need portraits. This wasn't part of my original focus but I accepted that freelancing meant I'd like to have to focus on people as subjects (I prefer landscape and architecture) more than I am used to. So I have an immediate need to improve my portrait skills. I was wondering if anyone had any resources I could check out. Books, videos, whatever. I just want to up my portrait game since it's such a common request. I appreciate any sincere and serious replies. Thank you for your time!

04-03-2018, 08:39 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
There's an absolute ton or great resources on youtube.
04-03-2018, 10:18 AM - 1 Like   #3

I found this quite useful when I was starting off taking portraits.
6 simple lighting setups for shooting portraits at home (plus free cheat sheet) | TechRadar
04-03-2018, 10:24 AM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by AndrewN Quote
I found this quite useful when I was starting off taking portraits.
6 simple lighting setups for shooting portraits at home (plus free cheat sheet) | TechRadar
I'm gonna check that out; thanks for that link! Seems like that's just about what I'm looking for.

04-03-2018, 11:31 AM - 2 Likes   #5
Pentaxian

Practice is going to be your most valuable resource.
04-03-2018, 01:56 PM - 1 Like   #6
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums