Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-29-2019, 11:39 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Food photography tips requested

Short story - I have been requested to do some food photography. Place in question is a newly opened bar - owner is a good friend of mine so I will be doing this free of charge. I should mention I have never done this before.

I will be using the K-1 and I have the following lenses: DA 15mm, Sigma 35mm Art (probably will not be available, currently sent to service for mount replacement), FA 43, FA 77, Helios 58mm, DFA 24-70mm, DFA 70-200mm.

I also have the Godox AD400 Pro with Xpro-P trigger, a Godox P120L parabolic softbox, a YN 560 III also with trigger and a shoot-through umbrella (actually I think I lost it somewhere but I can get another one).

I have 2 tripods and 3 lightstands.

Any tips or advice how to proceed and what to use? I can get some more gear if required unless it's something expensive - I would prefer to stop spending for a while after I have just purchased the DFA 70-200.

Thank you in advance!

06-30-2019, 01:37 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Soft and diffused light is key especially for glass. You could look at buying a roll of LEE 216 diffusion material and making up a set of scrims using strips of timber, works well. The scrims can be used together. Then add in a snoot (or similar) for concentrated lighting. Black foam board to be used as flags. Cheap acrylic mirror 'glass' to throw back light and gold/silver/white cards to be cut up to feed into the shots for those micro-reflections. And clamps and clamps and more clamps etc to hold the bits in place.

I'd guess you'll be working with your friend/owner to get the shots, so no need of food stylist ;-). I assume he has the ideas about what he wants, if not a ton of research on Instagram etc for examples might pay off.
06-30-2019, 01:55 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster