Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-13-2008, 06:37 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Another "Advise on shooting a Wedding" thread.

I am shooting a friend's daughters wedding in a two weeks. I will be trying somethings out with off camera flashes. I have a K10-Sigma 500 super and Pentax 540 - Cactus triggers and 2-30" umbrella's. I have done a few weddings and they know I am not a pro. They are like everyone else, on a budget and know I can shoot. Funny, I shot there first daughters wedding 9 years ago with film . They loved what I did, I thought it was a disaster . Everything looked okay but I am 1000 times more prepared than I was for that one. I went to the location and took some shots of where I will be shooting. Shooting a wedding Prep - a set on Flickr

The ceremony will be at 5:30pm EST and is a JP and quick and sweet in that little gazeebo. They said about 15 minutes. So on the date if weather is okay (fingers crossed) I will have a half hour, maybe forty five minutes of day light left after the ceremony. I have ideas and will be practicing but any thoughts comments or insight would be great on shooting outside. I will have shots behind the gazeebo and maybe on the practice green scene in th pictures. I have thoughts on goofy shots with fishing gears as the groom loves to fish. I will be and have been scanning the net and have lots of thoughts. But, I figured I would try here as you all always have thoughts that are always great. Thanks in advance.

10-13-2008, 07:23 PM   #2

First off good luck on the wedding. I've done a few outdoor events myself and the lighting later in the day can be tricky. Depending on the angle of the light you may want to use a reflector to bounce the light to fill in the afternoon shadows vice using a flash as the fill might be to much. Later when you are indoors try using trailing flash, I've found that works really well in the dimmer light with lots of moving people.