Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
12-06-2019, 02:05 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Wide angle: need advice/tips

Hi! For the context: I'm not a pro but not a newbie either; I love landscape photography but for some reasons most of the pictures I like myself I took with 50mm in film era and recently with f/2.4 35 "plastic fantastic" (maybe proportions feel more natural with this angle of view?) and as well ~21-24mm @ zoom.

A few days ago I could not withstand buying a 15mm Limited in a really mint condition for 50% of the new price. I was definitely driven by "I want it, I'll figure out how to". Comes out I have no idea how to deal with 15mm, I actually quite rarely used 18mm on my zoom. Well I actually planned for a 21mm lim but...

I'm definitely keen to exploring different genres and techniques. I love travelling and both wild nature landscape and city/architecture are in my list

I'd be extremely thankful for good examples and maybe some articles (sure I can google, too)

//mvh Sergei

12-06-2019, 02:19 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
First piece of advice I can give is do not think of it as just another landscape lens. Leastways I've never liked the results over panos using longer FLs which capture far more detail.

Get close to the subject(s) as possible.
12-06-2019, 02:24 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by saabeilin Quote
Hi! For the context: I'm not a pro but not a newbie either; I love landscape photography but for some reasons most of the pictures I like myself I took with 50mm in film era and recently with f/2.4 35 "plastic fantastic" (maybe proportions feel more natural with this angle of view?) and as well ~21-24mm @ zoom.