Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-28-2008, 08:26 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I normally don't post humor, but....

What do you do with a newly acquired FA* 600/4...??

Too good to pass up names removed to protect the innocence of the OP... apparently John acquired the FA* 600/4 at a smoking price back in 1997...

John Apr 22, 1997; 04:05 p.m.

Okay, I admit it - I am a not-quite-serious amateur. I take pictures for personal enjoyment, sharing with friends, and to build skills for a full-time hobby as I near retirement.
Recently I acquired an AF 600/f4 and 1.4 TC. I had no particular purpose in mind for it - I just bought it because it was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to get a great lens at a price I could afford. Prior to getting the 600/4 I was primarily interested in Macro pictures using 100 and 200mm lenses. Now I have a whole new range of photo opportunities, and I don't know quite where to start.
So, what's a person to do with their 600/f4? I am willing to experiment with subjects and styles. I have access to a good site at a major league baseball park, Fossil Rim Wildlife Park here in Texas, and I can do a small amount of traveling. For example, I am planning a trip to the Smokies in the fall. Since I live in a major metro area (Dallas/Ft. Worth), anything involving people and/or sports is also available.

Answers
Bob Apr 22, 1997; 04:34 p.m. (Marc: "this one is priceless")

You take it where everyone else takes their 600/4, and that is to Yellowstone in the fall. You can see huge herds of 600/4s milling around the park. They tend to congregate around sunset in the medows along with the elk.
You can recognize the 600/4 owners quite easily. They are found in small groups discussing back pain remedies.

Bob Apr 25, 1997; 12:06 p.m.