Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-01-2008, 01:16 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Wildlife Photographer of the Year / Where is Pentax Photography

I was at the Natural History Museum to see the BBC Wildlife Magazine Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition winners today. The photography on display was amazing, incredible and inspiring - the technical skills, use of technology, patience, luck and endurance shown by the winners was brilliant.

And I'll be honest about two things. One - I am an analyst and along with admiring the works and reading all the commentary and specs and natural history notes I was also tallying the camera brands used. Just because I wanted to. Two - I was looking for the word "Pentax".

I didn't find it. Not once. And this made me just a little bit sad. Just... would have been nice to see the word somewhere.

For the record, here's the tally of the adult category winners/ commended entries on display:
Canon DSLR : 42
Nikon DSLR : 20
Fuji : 2
Canon Powershot (!) : 1
Linhof : 1

And for the up-and-comers, the next generation of photographers, in the junior category:
Nikon DSLR : 7
Canon DSLR : 6
Olympus : 1
Panasonic Lumix : 1
Canon Powershot (!) : 1
Nikon Coolpix (!) : 1

I heartily recommend going to see the exhibit (it will be traveling around the world, too), or at least giving it a look online at :
Wildlife Photographer of the Year - Online gallery
Some of the stories behind the images are amazing!

And... go Pentaxians in 2009!!!

11-01-2008, 02:30 PM   #2
Veteran Member

No surprise.

Pentax does not make the equipment that a professional wildlife photographer would use.

Not to say someone couldn't get lucky once in a while eg. the Lumix, Powershot and Coolpix shots.

There is just too much time and effort involved in serious wildlife photography to "settle" for second rate AF, tracking, FPS. Not to mention that suitable glass is virtually non-existent.
11-01-2008, 02:38 PM   #3