Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
05-13-2021, 02:50 AM   #1

Suggestions, anyone?

Hello,

I've been asked to photographically cover our tennis club's outdoor weekend meet.
(I did ask them to support some local professional photographer, but as it is lamentable these days, they would not want to pay for such a thing.)
I am free with the content and the execution; the results will be used in the club newsletter and in social media. All the releases have been asked and so forth.

I come from large format photography background, and as is common on LF equipment, preparing for one exposure takes me around thirty minutes.
With 35mm gear, I have decades of experience on architecture, landscapes, macro and portrait photography, but with action photography,
I am not very experienced. I've tried to practice that as well in the past two years, but after each session I've made,
there is always some thing I've ignored in all the hassle.

I know the grounds, the programme; I've also proposed a plan and got it accepted:
I'll create a photo itinerary of the two days (I am also participating in the tournament,
so naturally I won't be covering my own matches) and additionally, I'll make some photo portraits
(here I am better in my comfort zone).

I've decided to give my Pentaxes a chance here: originally I thought of taking Pentax as primary selection,
and Nikon gear (I have longer experience with that) as my backup, but it does seem a bit excessive to
drag along two sets of gear just for one purpose. I've had digital Pentaxes only for two years, but I think
I am starting to get the mechanics under control. I much prefer manual focus, but action shooting just might
need auto-focus with my limited experience in this subject area.

There's a bit of a problem in the equipment, as I have mainly primes for my cameras;
I have a decent medium zoom, which I think will provide sufficient flexibility in