Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
05-26-2021, 01:13 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Need help moon eclipse post-processing (stacking), please!

Hello Folks,

I took 22 photos of lunar eclipse progression of phases over San Francisco last night with my K-1ii.
I also took 12 frames of "close-up" at totality with my K-70.

I want to stack these and end up with one photo for each scene. How do I go about this? I think the process for the close-ups will be simpler, but I have never done anything like this before. Please walk me through this, and perhaps this thread can serve as a tutorial for others.

Some things I am wondering about, in addition to the basics of the process, are how to I even out the exposures of the progression shot (individual frames shot between ISO 200 1/400s and ISO 800 1s), and exposure (brightness of the moon) varies somewhat. Is this done to "even out" the individual frames before stacking, or done to the "individual moons" once the stack is complete. Also, I took additional exposure bracketed shots of the foreground thinking it might be better to do a HDR lower/foreground merge and adding the "moons" above it. How would I go about this?

I shot in RAW+Jpeg, and the examples are of some Jpegs from the camera (close up is cropped, obviously, and quickly edited using basic smartphone photo editor)

Thanks!!! I look forward to your replies.

Name:  20210526_105327~2.jpg
Views: 363
Size:  16.1 KB

Name:  IMGP2628~2.jpg
Views: 327
Size:  13.0 KB

Name:  IMGP2650~2.jpg
Views: 308
Size:  34.5 KB

05-26-2021, 04:00 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery