Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-30-2021, 11:02 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Need advice: Star Trails and Milky Way Wide Field Planned First Attempts

Thanks to those who provided advice re: my attempts at lunar eclipse stacking!

I need more astrophotography help.

Again, I am a beginner with these techniques.

Next weekend, I will be camping at a couple great dark sky spots in the remote Sierra Nevada mountains here in California. I would like to try a star trails shot and a wide-field milky way shot. I will be using my K-1ii and my D-FA 24-70mm f/2.8 lens and the Astrotracer function.

I have read several approaches to both of these shots, so I am confused. For the milky way shot, I have read that an EV of -8 is required. Is this correct? would I get better results at an EV of -7 or -6 due to presumably decreased noise? Should I favor a long exposure or a low ISO to get the best result? Should I stack exposures? Should I take dark frames, or use the long-exposure NR in-camera? I am also considering whether it is best to shoot one frame at 24mm or 3 or 4 frames at 35mm and stich them (vertically) in post.

For the star trails shot, everything I read suggests 30-second exposures. Is there any reason that I can't use a longer exposure, like 1 minute? Is it because the stars will effectively "move out" of a given pixel before that pixel is fully exposed? I am thinking of doing a 2-hour total exposure. What is the proper EV to use for this? I have read that -7 is good, but that is so close to the recommended exposure for the milky way shot that I wonder if -6, -5 or -4 would be better. Please advise! Should I use the star trails function in-camera or combine exposures later in post?

I note that I will only have one try at the star trails shot for each location where I will be camping. I can try a couple different approaches for the milky way shot.