Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-29-2008, 11:16 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Request to see some photos with long exposures (> 1sec) in bright daylight

Hi

I am just learning to use filters and would really like to see some pictures of long exposures done in bright daylight.

I have googled and found some nice pics in flickr and other sources but all the pics seem to be made from canon/nikon cams. Would really like to see how a pentaxian would shoot pictures like this. No need to post the pics in this thread if they are too big or something. A link would be most helpful for me.

Thanks!
raider

11-29-2008, 11:34 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Nothing to write home about with this one, was just fartin around, but here's a 2sec exposure of a mountain stream I did with a 4 stop ND @ f/19, 140 ISO.
11-30-2008, 12:55 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Bright daylight? Like "Sunny 16"? I don't have any that fit that criterion, but it did spur me to calculate what it would take to get a one second exposure.

If using ISO 100 and getting 1/100 at f16, how many stops of light do we have to kill to get to 1 second?

1/100
1/50
1/25
1/12
1/6
1/3
1/1

Those figures are rough, but it shows we have to kill about six stops of light in order to get the shutter speed down that low. So if the lens being used goes down to f22 or f32, that takes care of one stop or two. Adding an ND8 filter will knock off three stops.

So f32 and an ND8 filter will put you in the neighborhood of one second, but probably not quite there. Most of my lenses only go to f16, so I'd be up that slow running creek without a paddle.
11-30-2008, 01:27 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks. Actually i would like to take photos of the sea and river and streams with a shutter speed of 4sec or more, maybe 6 sec or something and i wanted to do this in bright daylight.

Any pics and descriptions of the steps and equipment used for the shot? Many thanks