Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-10-2008, 02:06 PM   #1
Forum Member

Full Frame, APS-C and Cinema

Hey all. This is my first time starting a thread. I feel so alive. Anyway, my post is concerning our Pentax half-frame DLSRs and the movies. I'm a filmmaker, and one thing that I've found interesting is that the APS-C sized sensor is approximately the same size as a film frame from a movie shot on 35mm, 1.85:1 aspect ratio. Many films are still shot in this format, and many films are now shot on HD cameras with much smaller sensor sizes. The film community is very excited about the new Red Camera because it uses a 35mm-sized sensor. That of course means 35mm cinema-sized, which is the same as our Pentax DSLRs.

My points are these. I love my Pentax, because it helps familiarize me with the same focal lengths I would use on a movie shoot. In fact, when I learned this, I excitedly sold my director's viewfinder, and bought a FA35 with the money. Who needs a director's viewfinder when I can use my camera. I don't know if any other forum members care about these things, but maybe my next point is more relevant.

If the APS-C sized sensor is good enough for many of the most beautifully shot movies, and is the target size of the newest digital video cameras like the RED, Arri D20, Dalsa Origin, etc., why do people disparage it so much? The Godfather is a work of art by Gordon Willis, and it was shot in 1.85:1. It seems the only movies that really had the same frame as full frame still cameras were the ones shot in VistaVision, like Hitchcock's films (with VistaVision, the 35mm film runs horizontally like in still photography, as opposed to vertically, like in almost all other non-Imax filmmaking).