Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
06-25-2022, 05:57 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Movies and still photography

We watched Carol Reed's, The Third Man, earlier this week and it was the first time since I became half-way serious about photography. What struck me was there were few straight-on shots, cityscape or human portrait. Perhaps it was particularly noticeable in black and white. It was (almost) too much but said wake-up and think. This recalled The Duelists for color and contrast as an example of sets the mood. My background is dealing with history so there may be a bias. Of course, John Ford is a constant lesson in composition, especially "where is the horizon."

Please suggest other movies that are photography lessons. I find that repetition in a film get through to me better than looking at photographs.

06-25-2022, 06:20 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Citizen Cane has always been hailed in cinematography but it works the same for photography in many ways too. The creative use of shadows has always stood out to me.
06-25-2022, 07:05 AM - 2 Likes   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Anything by Stanley Kubrick; 2001 Space Odyssey, Barry Lyndon, Dr Strangelove, Spartacus,
Every shot is very carefully composed and lit.

Many of the Coen brothers films, They work with cinematographer Roger Deakins,
Especially, Oh Brother Where Art Thou, and Fargo

You mentioned the Duelists, which was Ridley Scott's first major film,
Blade Runner, Alien, Gladiator, The Martian, all worth watching for the visuals,

All of the above are masters of creating immersive worlds, and cohesive environments

Last edited by K-Three; 06-25-2022 at 07:34 AM. Reason: thought some more
06-25-2022, 07:33 AM - 2 Likes   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by K-Three Quote