Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-17-2022, 11:35 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
LCD viewer loupe

As I started shooting infrared with a newly converted K-5 I noticed that using live view is an absolute must in order to nail focus with most lenses. Of my whole bag, the only one which plays "nice" with regular phase-detect AF under IR is the 16-85 but all the others benefit from contrast detection AF. In anything else than a moody or cloudy day, the LCD becomes very hard to see and holding the camera at arms length doesn't do much for stability either, decreasing sharpness even further.

On my (non-IR) KP at least I can angle the LCD so I can take away some of the glare but on my newly acquired infrared K-5 I had no such luck. I did come across some options for LCD hoods, some from Hoodman, but the cost was horrendous! I finally got myself a Meike knock-off. A Chinese brand I remember from some aftermarket grips for the K20D and K-5 many years ago. They tend to be very light plastic and not very well constructed but do the job.

I found this a rather bulky but indispensable attribute to shooting my IR camera. It fastens securely to the tripod mount, is adjustable so it probable fits any DSLR and while not very pretty, it does the job. It allows me to hold the camera at eye level with the soft rubber eye cup against my eye, leaving my left hand free to focus or support the lens. There is no light leakage as the edges which contact the LCD frame on the camera also are some soft rubbery material and the image is really bright, clear and enlarged. It allows manual focus (or moving the AF indicator around for precise AF) and is really great to nail composition and avoiding wonky horizons (the bane of my shooting in general).