Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-21-2008, 08:31 PM   #1
Forum Member

First gig... need advice!

My first real photo gig is only six days away! I will be shooting a local band as they perform live at a venue here in town. This is a very good opportunity for me and I don't want to blow it. I could really use some advice as I have no experience shooting live bands in a darkish venue.

I will be packing my two bodies: K1000 and a comparable Ricoh.

I have three primes: 28mm/2.8, SMC-A 50mm/1.7, 135mm/2.8.

I also have a cheap .42x lens converter that I bought to use on the 28 for a fisheye but I'm not sure if I'm going to use it. The band has worked with at least one professional photographer in the past who used a fisheye religiously.... I obviously want to give them a different look.

I DO NOT have a flash.

I have a few rolls of Tri-X 400 laying around that I planned to use if I can. I'm going film shopping tomorrow. What should I get? 800 ISO or faster? I'm expecting minimal light to be safe. I want to shoot at least a roll of B&W because I don't think they've ever been shot in B&W.

Is not having a flash a killer? I'm a broke college student and with it being Christmas season and all I don't have any extra cash to spend on one. I could maybe find a cheap used one at a local camera joint though....

Does anyone have any tips for metering? If the stage has a lot of backlighting I can see it being a problem. I will probably be able to get on-stage or at least side-stage and can probably get close to the front as long as I am willing to throw my weight around.

Also, the band is only playing a 30 minute set.

Any other general advice? I REALLY appreciate it! Thanks!

12-21-2008, 08:38 PM   #2
Forum Member

Original Poster
Update: