Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-07-2023, 05:07 PM - 1 Like   #1
Forum Member

Preferred modes and when / why?

Hi all! (I searched for a mega thread on this topic but couldn't find it..! So please just link if I missed it).

So beginner here, and with a new (used) KP on the way I'm reading the Bourque eBook, and I started thinking. What am I missing re: the modes of my camera?

Me: I enjoy tinkering. I like to shoot manual when I can, with an external flash for mainly portraits, but I use TAv when lighting is unpredictable. I've never used the program or auto modes, and really struggle to see what I gain from them over TAv. For me, letting the camera choose the aperture seems like asking for a surprise. And I know what I'm shooting (sports, landscape, etc.) so why would I let the camera choose shutter speed? Letting the camera meter and set ISO seems perfect for me.

In the eBook I'm reading the author talks about preferences for the various P modes. I understand what they are. I understand about different priorities... but I'm really struggling to consider when I'd use them.

I'm not asking for people to argue for their preferred methods, but simply, if you could share the what/why/when, perhaps I (and others?) could learn new ways to think about using my camera and the many modes offered.

So - who wants to share their favorite modes and the associated benefits / tradeoffs? Thanks!

03-07-2023, 05:18 PM - 1 Like   #2
Custom User Title
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I almost exclusively use Av.

Most of the time when I walk into a shooting scenario I'll first consider what ISO warrants the lighting situation and dial that in... on very rare occasions I'll use auto iso..
Next I select the aperture I need to acquire the required depth of field of my subject.
I let the camera dump the rest into shutter speed.
03-07-2023, 05:43 PM - 2 Likes   #3
Pentaxian