Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-18-2009, 12:33 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
HDR Photography

So ever since I started shooting I've been amazed by HDR images of all types, and run into them all over the internet.

I still feel like I don't completely understand how this works though- are people using something like the K10Ds "Multi Exposure" function to create these kinds of images?

If so- I've tried this and failed (even once on a tripod), and I'm wondering how it's done properly.

I just searched this forum for "HDR" and it returned 0 results, which is hard for me to believe...

Say I want to take a shot of a spectacular sunset, keeping the ground and some trees and whatnot also properly exposed, so I go for a 2 or even a 3 shot image- I set "Number of shots" in "Multi-exposure" to "3 times", but then what?

What is this "Auto EV Adjust" thing? I've played with it and can't seem to figure it out!

Do I need to be in fully Manual mode to do this properly?

01-18-2009, 01:28 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Try search for "High Dynamic Range" in the search function, you should find plenty of results since this has been beaten to death in here over the last year or more.

Also, look it up as a general google search, you could spend days reading through the results there. The good thing here, you don't have to be a Pentax user to apply the techniques and theories you'll read about.

EDIT: also, trying using an asterisk after "HDR" (HDR*) and you should get at least 96 threads on HDR.

Jason

Last edited by Jasvox; 01-19-2009 at 04:38 AM.
01-18-2009, 01:48 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I just bought a K200D and it has an HDR function for JPEGs (it's one of the optional in-camera after-the-fact filters). I've got some pretty good results from it so far

Like Jasvox says, check google with the terms "High Dynamic Range". You'll find a ton of info like I did.
01-18-2009, 03:34 AM   #4
Inactive Account