Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-24-2009, 04:09 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Advice needed for Sumo tournament

Fellow photogs I am in need of some help. My son and I are attending a sumo tournament today and I really want to get some good shots. I am a novice and have been learning. I have a 16-45 and 135 and a 50/1.7. I want to ensure my settings are straight. I have not really messed with ISO settings before. How would you adjust for lighting conditions? I am sure our seats won't be the greatest. Any insight would be appreciated.

01-24-2009, 05:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Is your 135 an f/2.8? If so, I'd say that's your best bet. I'd also take the 50/1.7 along. Being indoors, I imagine the lighting will be tough.

With the K10D, I'd try to keep the ISO to 800 or below, but you can try higher and then see about cleaning up the noise later.

I'd try the TAv mode with the aperture wide open (for maximum light) and then set the shutter speed to 1/60 or 1/125. I don't imagine the action is that quick, but I could be wrong. You could also time the shots for when the wrestlers are stalking each other, which would be a little slower on the action. In TAv mode, the ISO will float to where ever it's needed, but you need to have the Auto ISO range set wide enough.

I'd spot meter to get the proper exposure of the wrestlers. Also, make sure not to underexpose as that will make the noise worse. Increase the EV +0.3 or +0.7 (or whatever it takes). Also, make sure to shoot raw to have the maximum exposure lattitude, and so you won't have to worry about white balance.

Good luck! Take lots of shots at a variety of shutter speeds and ISOs. I suspect you'll always be shooting wide open aperture, though, due to the lighting.
01-25-2009, 09:32 AM   #3
Veteran Member