Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-04-2009, 02:53 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Is the K-mount hurting Pentax?

Please don't gang tackle me. A friend and I were discussing the current camera business. He has been around photography since high school (almost 20 years ago) and I am a relative noob. He suggested that one of the things hurting Pentax is the K-mount. He thinks that it is outdated and Pentax can't really squeeze more out of it but are reluctant to loose the backwards compatibility that is one the big selling points. I tend to disagree. It seems to me that it is just a mount and I don't see where a mount could hold back progress. It seems like he may be full of hot air. That's why I am bringing this to the wise members of the Pentax forum. Is it true that Nikon and Canon have changed their mounts over time? What was the reason for the changes?

I don't know why Pentax doesn't or won't compete, but I hope they do something soon. At least get some of the things to market that they have been showing at shows for a few years. I like my Pentax and don't intend on changing, but a few more options would be nice.

02-04-2009, 03:02 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Here comes the first hit

When I look at the interface, and possible options, No it is not out dated,

could it be expanded upon, perhaps, but before people go off looking at this, what is the contact count on the pentax mount. only 9 pins last time I looked.

what are canon and nikon, about the same If I recall correctly

the moutns all do about the same thing.

changing it solves NOTHING

change for the sake of change is a waste of energy, eneergy that pentax can spend better elsewhere
02-04-2009, 03:06 PM   #3
Veteran Member

did your experienced friend tell you WHY he believes the k-mount is a hinderence to pentax??
02-04-2009, 03:07 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter