Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-09-2009, 11:40 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Dead pixel/white spot on RAW pictures

Hi,

I started shooting RAW since I got a bigger memory card on my K200D. And yesterday as I was playing around with some RAW pictures I took last week, I saw a white dot.
I wasn't sure what to think at first, so I started looking at some older RAW pic. I had, and well I found quiet few with the same white pixel, on the same spot of course.
Now, I'm shotting RAW in PEF format.
There are few things I just noticed. On the pic. where I shot with small ISO, I don't see the white dot. Only the once I have with ISO 500 and up, I can see it. Where the ISO is 200, the dot doesn't exist. And as well, on the JPEG pic, you don't see the dot as well, so I can't really post any pic. Well..as I'm writing this and looking at the pic. I found another interesting thing. On the original JPEG pic. from the camera you can't see the dot. But now I tried saving a RAW pic. to JPG, and you I can see it. You can not see it as clearly as on the RAW pic. but I will try posting it.

PS:Had to crop it down, hope it helps.

If you guys know, what's up with it, please let me know. The dot, looks like a dead pixel. It's white, and just one.

Thanks

Attached Images

Last edited by Diasfu; 02-09-2009 at 11:50 AM.
02-09-2009, 02:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Try the pixel mapping feature of the camera.
Page 216 of the manual.

- Bert
02-09-2009, 02:15 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I did try it, but didn't make a difference.
Regards
02-10-2009, 08:22 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Diasfu Quote
I did try it, but didn't make a difference.
Regards
Try warming up the camera. See if the hot pixel appears with ISO 100, if it happens then try the pixel mapping feature again.
Hope it helps, otherwise, use your waranty.

- Bert

02-10-2009, 08:50 AM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster