Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-29-2007, 10:13 AM   #16
Ed in GA

QuoteOriginally posted by Pentaxperson Quote
Anyway... I heard something very disturbing today from a Wolf Camera Employee. He told me that Samsung had bought Pentax, and that they were going to shut down the Pentax Name in less than a year. He said wolf has already stopped receiving Pentax product because of this.

I don't think these Press Releases present a picture of a Company that is going out of business.

PENTAX NEWS release 2007 : PENTAX Establishes New Subsidiary in China

PENTAX | IR Information

Last edited by Ed in GA; 03-29-2007 at 10:19 AM.
03-29-2007, 10:46 AM   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Pentaxperson Quote
Hi I'm new to this particular forum... I'm more of a lurker...

Anyway... I heard something very disturbing today from a Wolf Camera Employee. He told me that Samsung had bought Pentax, and that they were going to shut down the Pentax Name in less than a year. He said wolf has already stopped receiving Pentax product because of this.

Have any of you heard anything like this? I know that Samsung uses some of Pentax technologies, and a couple of their cameras are clones.

I'm a lil scared, since I have a K10d, and am wondering if If that is going to hurt support?

Anyone know anything about this?
OH MY GOD....IT's TRUE?

Yeah, we have all heard it a thousand times. And no, it is not true. As a matter of fact it would appear that nothing is further from the truth. Pentax's share fo the digital market is actually growing faster than any other manufacturer while Canon is actually slipping and Nikon is barely holding steady.

I don't think even the dye in the wool Pentax owners know what the future holds. But before this year is over I think most of them will be astonished with what is actually in the pipeline and will be delivered (much) sooner rather than later.