Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-28-2007, 07:48 PM   #1
Forum Member

Pentax going out of business??

Hi I'm new to this particular forum... I'm more of a lurker...

Anyway... I heard something very disturbing today from a Wolf Camera Employee. He told me that Samsung had bought Pentax, and that they were going to shut down the Pentax Name in less than a year. He said wolf has already stopped receiving Pentax product because of this.

Have any of you heard anything like this? I know that Samsung uses some of Pentax technologies, and a couple of their cameras are clones.

I'm a lil scared, since I have a K10d, and am wondering if If that is going to hurt support?

Anyone know anything about this?

03-28-2007, 08:02 PM   #2
racinsince55

QuoteOriginally posted by Pentaxperson Quote
Hi I'm new to this particular forum... I'm more of a lurker...

Anyway... I heard something very disturbing today from a Wolf Camera Employee. He told me that Samsung had bought Pentax, and that they were going to shut down the Pentax Name in less than a year. He said wolf has already stopped receiving Pentax product because of this.

Have any of you heard anything like this? I know that Samsung uses some of Pentax technologies, and a couple of their cameras are clones.

I'm a lil scared, since I have a K10d, and am wondering if If that is going to hurt support?

Anyone know anything about this?
I think that would be news to both Pentax and Samsung.

Hoya and Pentax have recently announced a merger for which you can find information on this forum as well as many others.

Now, tell me, do you think it makes much sense? Pentax has introduced three new DSLRs in the past year and have just announced their new offering in the DA* lens series.

You'll find that most sales, and even some management, personnel at Wolf Camera have very little clue as to whats happening in the real Photography world.

YMMV
03-28-2007, 08:08 PM   #3
Veteran Member