Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2009, 07:51 PM   #1

Taking pictures of Stars on K200D

Hi all!

I recently purchased myself a k200d, and I am new to dSLR's in general.

I was trying to take a quick test-shot of some stars, but I couldn't get it to focus. The result was this:

I set the focus to manual, and to infinite. Other settings were:

Exposure: 30 seconds
Focal Length: 50mm
ISO: 800
F: F/5.6
Spot Metering

Any hints?

Cheers,
Rage

05-12-2009, 08:17 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I'd imagine your lens has focused past infinity - you might need to back off a little.

Also, 30 seconds might be long enough that you'll be starting to get star trails rather than single points, although that would depend on your focal length.

Last edited by Marc Sabatella; 05-13-2009 at 09:20 AM.
05-12-2009, 08:39 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The stars in your image are defocussed. They are not suffering from trailing that you get from a too long exposure for the focal length. Many lenses focus past infinity when racked out to the "infinity" stop so your lens could be doing this. You will have to find a way to judge focus better in your viewfinder.
05-13-2009, 03:03 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

The kit lens will focus past infinity, like it did in your picture. I am assuming you used the kit lens.
Either pre-focus on something bright, practice manual focusing in daylight to get the feel for the lens and the infinity focus point vs. where lens hits the stop or mark the lens barrel.
Pre-focusing works the best for me,.

Cheers. Mike.

05-13-2009, 03:15 AM   #5
KMB

I found a post on another forum that gives the maximum exposure time for various focal lengths and declinations to avoid trailing. For 50mm the maximum exposure lies between 20 and 75 seconds and it's recommended to use only 1/3 of the maximum time to get sharp pictures.