Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-16-2009, 12:25 PM   #1
Banned

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Bike Tour and DSLR?

I'm considering taking my K10D on a 5 day bike tour next week (Bike Virginia). It's about 70-80 miles a day. I'd like to be able to get better shots than I got last year with my little pocket P&S. I have a lowe Inverse 100 lumbar which will hold the body and 2 lenses but I'll probably only take the 18-55 to save weight. I've ridden 60 milers with the pack and didn't really notice it. But once I start the ride I'm stuck with the camera and lugging it everywhere I go. I could possibly put it into my bags to be shuttled to the next stop if I'm not wanting to take it but I'm worried about it getting damaged in transit. Does anybody have any experience with long rides and a lumbar pack?

06-16-2009, 04:26 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I have no experience, but having a K10D myself I think the weight would get to you after a carrying it a day and riding 70 miles. Maybe get something like a Panasonic LX3 or Canon G10 that's smaller and lighter. Even with a DA 40mm/2.8 Limited the K10D will be a brick.
06-16-2009, 04:45 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
depends a lot on what you're used to. i for instance have a big problem wiht combining bike and photo, i tend to take a lot of gear with me, and, most importantly, my tripod. carrying all that on my back while riding gets old very soon, so i tend to use the car for photo, and i usually never shoot when riding, even if i do take my gear along, it's driving me crazy to be honest.