Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-04-2009, 01:37 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
in-camera Vs Hoya filters

Hello,

I'm very new to digital photography so I'm still discovering what this stuff can and can't do. I have a very simple question regarding filters and I wonder if anyone could help me.

I understand why a camera can't do polarising inside the camera so obviously that still needs buying.

But I'm wondering about other filters, ie the Hoya ones that I was considering buying, specifically 81b. Fiddling about on the b&w settings gave me some perfectly acceptible in-camera filters making the need to buy red, yellow etc unneccessary. Is there a way to also mimic the 81b - is it feasable to use a mixture of colour temperature and hue etc adjustment to achieve those?

many thanks in advance

08-04-2009, 01:42 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Check your owner's manual for White Balance.

Mickey
08-04-2009, 02:11 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Yeah - thanks. *turns to page 191* I figured I was probably on the right lines with colour temperature, or some mixture of them both.

Is this what digital photographers generally do though? Ie omit forking out on a whole bunch of Hoya stuff (except those that can't be done electronically) in favour of using in-camera processing?
08-04-2009, 02:19 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums