Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2009, 02:11 PM   #1

Shot random people outside with a flash?

I like to photograph random people outside, maybe they just have this nice look or feeling and deserve a photograph. But sometimes the sun makes a really harsh (harsh... Do you say that in english?) shadow in their face or body.
Then I would like a external flash to light them up, but it feels rude to flash them without talking about it first. And then I maybe lost the nice feeling in the picture.

What do you think, anyone use a flash like this outside? Is it rude? Should I try with something else?

/Amateur

08-10-2009, 02:27 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Check out Bruce Gilden.

YouTube - WNYC Street Shots: Bruce Gilden
08-10-2009, 02:31 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager

Welcome to the forum.
I'm not an expert in this topic, but I can offer <.02c worth...
With street photography, you do need to exercise some discretion as in effect you're invading people's privacy somewhat - flash compounds the invasion, unless you've gained consent to take photos of them.
08-10-2009, 03:12 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
That Bruce Gilden clip is cool. I would live to have a go at that type of shooting. After the initial shock of flashing people like that it would be a heap of fun. Of course this needs to be done in a crowded place.... it would be wierd in a country town or similar.

Also... imagine doing that with a k20+grip. Your arm would get tired!

IMO, as soon as 'they' see the camera the mood is lost. Gotta be quick.

08-10-2009, 05:20 PM   #5
Pentaxian

I don't have anything to add to what the previous posters said . . . but I will say that "harsh" is exactly the correct word in English for what you describe.
08-14-2009, 05:49 PM   #6
K-9
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums