Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-10-2009, 09:21 PM   #1

Wedding... Help!

So i kinda fell into being the photographer for a friends wedding. It's going to be outdoors and pretty informal. My problem is I have no experience shooting weddings and very little in shooting portraits . Right now I have a K10d with the kit lens as well as a da* 50-135. I have gathered that I will need some kind of a flash... Does anyone have any suggestions on good ones to look at? Im trying to keep the flash around the 200 dollar mark but would be willing to put out a little more if it would be worth it. Also is there any suggestions on how to shoot the event, other equipment that I will need, or things that I will need to keep an eye out for? Any help would be amazing! I'm pretty sure this topic has been beaten to death somewhere on the net but I wasn't able to find it. Thanks ahead of time!

08-10-2009, 10:06 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Well, all I can say is I feel so sorry for you.
My experience so far with Pentax and flash is that one is probably just as well off with an ordinary auto flash as with a fancy TTL auto zoomar, fiendishly clever little dedicated job.
Start taking pictures of people NOW.

If it helps, here is a list of shots that the bride at my next wedding has requested. I've changed names to who the person is which is why it reads like an order form (though that is what it is):

.hmmessage P { margin:0px; padding:0px } body.hmmessage { font-size: 10pt; font-family:Verdana } ceremony
-my dad and me arriving at ceremony cite
-groom arriving at ceremony cite
-decorations especially a large view of the hall (church) 2 arches from both ways, the chair covers and the petals on aisle before people are seated
-parents and grandparetns being seated
-bridesmaids (2, including chelsea maid of honour) walking down aisle
-me and my dad before and walking down aisle