Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-02-2009, 01:13 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Big Game Fishing Photography

Hi all

I have been invited to replace one of the photographers that was going to cover the event (big game fishing challenge) on one of the boats.

I'm an amateur/enthusiast and I never did something like this. Think is a great challenge and learning opportunity for me.

Can someone give me pointers on how to aproach this shooting and also sellecting the gear?

I can use k200d and k7. I was thinking about using only two lenses, one on each bodie since it doesn't seem a good idea to change lens in the sea. I'm I right ?

Available lenses are:

DA10-17
DA12-24
DA18-55
DA18-250
DA*300
FA/FA* 24/ 50 / 31 / 77
FA28-80

Tamron 17-50 and 70-200 f2.8

Edit: DFA 100mm

Care to share your ideas/experiences or just brainstorm a bit?

Thanks

Last edited by netuser; 09-03-2009 at 04:34 AM. Reason: Forgot the macro lens
09-02-2009, 01:54 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You'll be on the boat and have pretty close range for shooting.
You probably won't need the 70-200, 300 or 77 lenses.
Your 17-50 would probably be versatile enough and good to capture things spontaneously, but having the 24 and 31 would be gold.
09-02-2009, 07:04 PM   #3

Personally i think the 10-17 could produce some rather cool results in the small confines of the boat, and could really make the big fish look huge if used properly.

Having a macro lens could also work rather well with the fish themselves.
09-02-2009, 08:53 PM   #4
Veteran Member

What are they expecting you to capture? Action shots, trophy shots, fish coming out of the water?

Are you going to be in the same boat as fishermen, or in a chase boat?

Have they shown you, or have you seen examples from previous events?

09-03-2009, 01:46 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by alohadave Quote