Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-14-2009, 09:39 AM   #16

Interesting topic. I have been on both sides of the teaching coin as a student and a teacher. The photo school I teach at is accredited but it is not paid for by the student. We teach mostly beginner and intermediate photography techniques. We do cover the “rules” but instead call them guidelines. That they are starting points not the end all be all of photo making. We do a lot of in class critiques and the assignments we give the students are also done by the instructors to show different approaches. All the feedback I have received from the students has been good; we try to be a springboard into photography, and hope to create an interest not set ridged rules.

As a student I think some of my classes were/ still are invaluable. A couple in particular helped me wrap my head around ideas that I was struggling with. I have attended some “cash driven” photo courses also. I didn’t feel like I got as much out of these but it did light a fire in me to shoot in different ways, get me out of my comfort zone, and I made some great contacts that have paid off 10 fold the entrance fee.

Is formal training a requirement… far from it. Is it worthless… far from it. Like FHPhoto said everyone learns different ways and to discredit someone for the technique used to get there is poor judgment in my eyes. If you run across someone that has received training but still seems off track then try to get them back on track, if you continue to let them fail then who does the blame fall on?

09-15-2009, 02:53 AM   #17

GREAT thread!