Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-09-2009, 04:09 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
File storage

Greetings all.

I'm new to the world of DSLR, new to Pentax (having bought a K20D earlier in the year) and new to forums - I'm hoping someone out there might be able to offer some advice.

Although new the DSLR, I find that the folders on my PC are filling fast and I was wondering about storing of my pics. I had thought of buying an external hard drive, but have heard rumours that these can be unreliable. I've also heard that my PC's hard drive can also be unreliable and that the best way to store digital pics is on DVD. What experience do people out there in Pentax land have in this area?

Thanks.

Peter.

09-09-2009, 04:59 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

There is safety in numbers. You need one or two external hd's. One is really necessary to back up your images and two is even better for the same reasons.

My setup has one external just for images and the other for a periodic pc hard drive back up.
There is safety in numbers.
09-09-2009, 07:25 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Your best bet is to get a RAID array so that there's always redundancy; this can either be internal or external.

Thread moved to Everything Else.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
09-10-2009, 07:16 AM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

RAID array is not the way to go, read this blog. Another reason to not use RAID arrays: Raid 0 - all data is evenly split between drives. If any drive OR the controller dies - you loose everything.