Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-22-2007, 01:27 PM   #1

Photo gear advice for 3 week tibet trip

I will be spending three weeks in Tibet with my uncle (I'm a college student at UC San Diego/Chinese Academy of Sciences) and am unsure how to handle my equipment in cold temperatures.

I have a Pentax K10D, Pentax FA 50mm 1.4, Sigma 70-300 DG APO, Sigma 17-35 EX DG, and Pentax AF 360 FGZ flash packed inside a Lowepro Microtrekker 200 backpack.

1. What should I be concerned about with my backpack itself? Is there a way to water seal it?

2. What should I be concerned/aware of operating my camera?

3. What should I be concerned/aware of about my lenses?

4. Are there any good guides/books about cold temps?

Thanks!

05-22-2007, 01:47 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by feralryan Quote
1. What should I be concerned about with my backpack itself? Is there a way to water seal it?

Thanks!
1 - I believe all LowPro bags have a weather proof cover you can purchase - check it out

2 - The elements cold / damp weather / dust

3 - Same as number 2

4 - I am sure a google search would find some

I would bring exta batteries for both the camera and flash - keep then in as warm a place as possible. Power Convertor for all you chargers and such ...as many SD cards as you can carry hahah - at least 4 or 5 - 2GB cards and more if you do not have anywhere to 'dump' them periodically

The trip should provide some incredible photo opps for you !

Edit Could Not Resist : A Sherpa and a Mule although you can likely get them there

Last edited by daacon; 05-22-2007 at 02:08 PM.
05-22-2007, 03:57 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I will be spending three weeks in Tibet with my uncle (I'm a college student at UC San Diego/Chinese Academy of Sciences) and am unsure how to handle my equipment in cold temperatures.