Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-25-2009, 08:52 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Backup Camera?

I have been using my k20d and am very happy with it. As much as I want to get a K7 there does not seem to be a great “picture quality” reason to do so.

I have been getting more serious with my photography and have a home studio and also have a “Strobist.com” lighting setup that I take with me on location. To my friends and family I am an expert, but I know better, and so do ya’ll. Nonetheless, I am improving. I am doing some portrait and modeling work to build my portfolio to set up a website. I have a day job and am a weekend (photographic ) warrior.

I am shooting more often, though and was wondering how many people have a backup camera. I have back up accessories so I think I know the answer to this question: should I get a back up camera? I was just wondering what others do who are doing this on the side.

Thanx so much.

Gregg

09-25-2009, 09:18 AM   #2
Veteran Member

If you are serious about photography, you need a back up camera. You never know what can happen, so you have to play it safe. You can't stop a wedding because your camera has a bad day.
09-25-2009, 10:26 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
With the exception of when I first started, (and only had one camera) I have always had back-up cameras.

Here's how I did it, and note, back-up does not mean duplicate. In fact, I advocate that your back up camera should do something different than your main body. Specifically it should not be a back up as much as alternate use camera.