Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2007, 09:20 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Photojournalism, How-to

After being asked by superbass about Photojournalism, I came up with these 2 things How I got into it and Keys to follow

QuoteOriginally posted by superbass Quote
Sorry to steal the thread, but I'd like to ask you a question Brendan ... I'm in Delaware, and I was wondering how you got started shooting for newspapers etc.

I'm a college graduate with no real connections or ideas on what to do with my life, and I was wondering how people get started shooting professionally.
Simple, I stuck my foot in the door when I was 18 and left it their. Slowly squeezing more of my body through the crack.
I had some help along the way from teachers with Internships, and luck from the directors sending me jobs when they were called by another agency for a photographer.

My suggestion is to look for Internships (for the fall, too late for summer) also if you’re a good photographer start applying at local outlets as a freelancer. They will slowly start to use you if your good. Once your in make tones of friends and ask questions, look at all the photos that are published in all the papers, mags etc. that you can and try to figure out how to make yours look like theirs (not copy, but learn the good eye and your style will form.