Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-30-2007, 01:55 PM   #1
Veteran Member

My new camera

I got home from work today and found that the UPS fairy had left me a present on my doorstep. I ordered a K10D last week and it arrived today. I opened the box and made sure all the items were accounted for. This dSLR thing is new for me so when I ordered the camera I bought the kit lens (DA 18-55 F3.5-5.6). I installed the lens and flippped through the manual. I'm just waiting now for the battery to fully charge so I can fire it up. The manual says up to 180 minutes for a full charge but it seems like forever.

Since I'm new to dSLR and the only training I had in film SLR was back in high school, can you experienced folks suggest a few books to help me ease back into things? Perhaps it will keep me from asking silly questions

05-30-2007, 05:13 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are prolly a gazillion books on photography, and everybody has favorites. But two pretty general books I found helpful were The Basic Book of Photography by Thomas Grimm, and Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson. The first one is a bit more basic than the second, but there's good info in both and its fairly well presented. Neither book is "purely digital" in fact the Grimm work is more oriented towards film, but it covers the basics (which are the same pretty much) very well.

NaCl(but don't worry about silly questions, we love silly questions! well maybe not love... )H2O
05-30-2007, 06:46 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks for the suggestions

I'm open for some others if anyone else has any ideas
05-31-2007, 02:32 PM   #4