Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-28-2009, 12:59 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
My first star trail shot came out doubled?

Not a very interesting image I know, I'm still learning. I'm just wondering how this would have happened. It was a calm night, taken with my K20D, 16-45 @ 24mm w/o a filter, f5.6, 2678 sec. on a cheap tripod placed on my porch. I would understand if the tripod or camera had moved but wouldn't the eave with icicles be doubled too if one or both had moved? Plus there are a few star trails showing up under the eave too.
Thoughts?

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K20D  Photo 
10-28-2009, 01:24 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I'm wondering if you had any insects moving about.
I would imagine that if some of them glowed like fireflies they may cause those effects on the photo, and you may not notice them.
10-28-2009, 01:33 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I've never seen any type of glowing bugs in my area. Besides the temp was too low for any sane bugs to be flying around in, 28 F (-2 C).
10-28-2009, 01:41 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hmm... my first inclination would have been that the tripod had moved - and the blurred roofline to the side would seem to corroborate this, but that wouldn't explain why the star trails seemed to shif they way they did.

The only conclusion I can come to is that somehow the focal length was changed. Ie. he lens was somehow zoomed to only capture the sky and not anything else and thereby changing the pereived path of star trails.

Might I suggest trying to compose a similar shot but with a visual landscape? Shots of star trails tend to have much more visual impact when put in context with its surroundings and it'll also identify any areas of technique which need to be refined.

10-28-2009, 02:59 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter