Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-15-2009, 02:10 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
astrophotography with K-7 - issues =(. Please help?

Hello,

I've never done any astrophotography before and I'm trying to do a few nice star trails. I'm failing miserably though, can anyone point me in the right direction please?

First, ideally I'd like to do several exposures and stack/merge them. I downloaded a freebie called deepskystacker but I'm having a little issue with my camera. When I set the thing to do interval shooting, every 30 seconds, with an exposure time of 30 seconds set manually, there seem to be gaps between the joined images. Is this because the camera is doing some processing in between and how would I avoid that please?

Secondly, I'd like to do this for exposures longer than 30 seconds but the in-camera limit seem to be 30 seconds. Is there any way around that?

many thanks in advance

12-15-2009, 02:17 PM   #2
Inactive Account

You are getting gaps in the trails due to dark frame subtraction by the camera.
The only way to go beyound 30 seconds is to use the bulb mode.
If you take a 5 minute shot, the camera will take about 5 minutes to finish dark frame subtraction. I don't believe anyone has found a way to turn all that off.
12-15-2009, 03:22 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks wildlifephotog, I've been fiddling with it all night and whilost I've turned off those default noise settings, it still has gaps - even for exposures at 20 seconds and seperated by 20 seconds. So it must be some inbuilt thing - is there no way to turn this off at all for shots below 30 seconds?

I thought that this is what custom setting 18 was supposed to do "slow shutter speed noise reduction" - turn all this sort of stuff off?
12-15-2009, 03:44 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster