Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-04-2010, 01:02 AM   #31
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
QuoteQuote:
I took a bunch of that scene over many days and through different weather conditions. For that particular one, the scene was truly breathtaking and I'm mad at myself that I wasn't able to capture it better than I did. It won't look like that again for at least another year.

These were taken a week later at the same location. Breathtaking scene, not-so-breathtaking pictures:

Again, I can see why they don't work as well as I wanted, I just need to learn to figure that out while I'm taking the picture, not by bashing my work long after I've returned home.
Wow! Tons of great advise here. I've been playing with photography for 35 years and I still suck! But occasionally I do see a dimond glittering amongst the crap.

A 'scene' can be interesting - like your ice-bound water way above; but look for interesting subjects within the scene. For instance, on the picture on the left I might go for the wind-swept tree but you chose to chop it off. And 70mm focal length might not be a super choice for landscape. If you are out shooting and see a scene like that and don't have a wide-angle lens, that try your hand at making a pano using many shots. Make a vertical pano for something different. Bend down, lay down, move in tighter, go wider; shooting the same 'scene' from different physical positions came make a difference. Try shooting the same scene at dusk or sunrise; it would look surprisingly different in varying light.

Gary is right, you have to see it in your mind then convince the rest of your body it is possible.

Good luck!

03-04-2010, 02:50 AM   #32
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Try to make the ordinary extraordinary but keeping it simple and impacting.
This is what has helped me see that I can sometimes get a result I'm pleased with.