Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-25-2010, 05:35 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Distance to compensate for crop factor

Hi

I'm quite new in photography. One thing I recently learn is that a 50mm lens is a 50mm lens regardless whether it is on film (full frame) or dSLR.

My question is this.
Suppose I have a 50mm lens. If I take a picture 1 meter away from the subject using a film camera (i.e. full frame), how far should I stand (from the subject) when I am using a dSLR to get the same field of view?

Is there a rule of thumb that allows me to estimate this distance? I want to know what the distances for 21, 35, 85 and 150mm lenses.

cheers

03-25-2010, 05:50 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi bodhi08,
If you are using Pentax DSLR, e.g. Kx, K7, then the 50mm lens "becomes" 75mm. IOW, the FOV changes by 1.5 times.
03-25-2010, 05:59 AM   #3
Veteran Member

My question is why don't you just position yourself to fill the frame how you want it to look? I think that is probably the best rule of thumb, compose your frame as you see fit. Forget all this crop factor stuff and just compose your frame.
03-25-2010, 06:42 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

If you are quite new to photography and have no intention of using a film SLR, then just forget that you ever heard the term crop factor. It means nothing to you.

03-25-2010, 06:46 AM   #5

Original Poster
Thanks for the replies.

I put up this question because I don't want to be stuck in a small room with the wrong prime lens. I love my primes and I would only bring a couple to a photoshoot (mostly trial for now).
I want to be able to estimate, based on the size of the room, which prime lenses to take.

Of course I could buy all the nice prime lenses out there IF I had the money (that is a BIG if in this case ).

I am still trying to a get a feel of the different primes and I reckon this would help me get there.

Thanks for viewing this thread.