Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-01-2010, 05:22 AM   #1
Keebler

advice for shooting a horse (with a camera)?

Hi folks,

I offered to snap some pics of a friends horse at her land - she knows i'm a complete amateur, but still, I'd like to do the best I can with my knowledge.

The situation: her horse is coming home for the first time after being at a farm. She lives on a large chunk of land so lots of space for the horse. The only problem is that it will be high noon and it's looking to be sunny although I may have some clouds to diffuse that bright light. I tried to see if she could do it tomorrow morning, but her schedule is tight so it has to be done today. She did say that I could come at any other time later, but today is important b/c she says he always prances around when he comes home for the first time (I guess he's excited to be back home)

Any suggestions would be great.

I have the following:
K7 (bringing my tripod and remote shutter)
kits lens:
DA 18-55
DA 70-300
I just bought the DA 14mm.

Shots I plan to take:
- from the horses' side - standing still and galloping

- I thought about getting up on the fence as high as possible (maybe 4 feet?) and snapping some at head level (i'm only 5'2" so I need all the vertical help I can get

- I have this vision of snapping a shot up close and personal with the 14mm of the horse nose and head - as close as I can with the horse feeling comfortable and not wanting to lick my lens. For some reason, I thought it would be neat to get a head shot portrait?

- a shot with my friend standing beside the horse - hopefully I can get this candidly b/c this is the first time she's bringing him home after the winter (he was at another farm earlier). ie. hopefully she's stroking his nose or petting his side type of shot

- I thought about getting as low as I can, but I don't know if that type of shot will work with horses? maybe make them look larger than life?