Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-18-2010, 03:34 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Rule of third

Which one follows the rule of third? W/c is better?

04-18-2010, 03:40 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I don't think that either of them really do, but I'm not an expert on the rule of thirds because I think that it's a dumb rule, and leaves out a lot of awesome photo styles when you constrain yourself to it. I think the second one is a lot better because of the addition of the fog (there's your rule of thirds, I guess) and it looks like the photo has a lot more contrast and pops a lot more. I like the second one.
04-18-2010, 02:31 PM   #3
Veteran Member

In my opinion following the 'rule' of thirds is not going to make any photo good just because it's composed that way. Certain things benefit from it but I like Andreas Feininger's approach - he said something like 'There are no rules in photography, only principles.'

I find that beneficial - thirds is a tool to be used for some compositions and not for others.

The second photo is better exposed but I think they'd benefit more from some scale or foreground objects more than any rules of thirds issue.
04-18-2010, 06:14 PM   #4
Veteran Member

From Wikipedia:
The rule of thirds is a compositional rule of thumb in visual arts such as painting, photography and design. The rule states that an image should be imagined as divided into nine equal parts by two equally-spaced horizontal lines and two equally-spaced vertical lines, and that important compositional elements should be placed along these lines or their intersections. Proponents of the technique claim that aligning a subject with these points creates more tension, energy and interest in the composition than simply centering the subject would.