Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-16-2010, 03:09 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Studiophotos
Lens: Pentax 1:1,8/55 Camera: Pentax K10 Photo Location:

From my new studio in my basement. I will be glad to get critics of any kind, light is a subject that isn't quite easy.

Attached Images

05-16-2010, 04:27 PM   #2
mel
Veteran Member

I'll leave the lighting comments to the lighting experts, as there are plenty of them on this board, but the thing that strikes me straight off, is that in the 2nd and 4th images, the subjects seem to be floating in space. There's no ground or floor to be seen, at least not easily. I can kind of make one out a little in the last image but I have to really look for it. My monitor maybe?

I am new to the 'studio in the basement' thing myself. It's pretty fun to play with huh.
05-16-2010, 07:49 PM   #3
Forum Member

Could you tell more about your setup?
Love the pose and idea in the 1st.
#4 lighting seems a bit harsh.
05-16-2010, 08:46 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
It's always tough to critique someone elses work(based on what?)
I can't say I've always been a fan of dark spaces though they seem to have there place.
But in this case, I don't find this aspect of the scenes to be complimentary to the subjects.

The first image is intriguing, but(being a man), I have no choice to be completely biased toward the female body(she looks amazing) and so I'm not even sure if my observations could be called sound there either.

Having said that, the second image looks like a cutout or masked in photoshop(is it?).