Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-06-2010, 09:17 AM   #1
Inactive Account

My first upload
Lens: Dal 55 - 300 Camera: K-X Photo Location: My kitchen window ISO: 1600 Shutter Speed: 1/200s Aperture: F5.8 

Hi guys

This is one i quickly took this morning from my kitchen window was more a spur of the moment thing so i thought i'd snap it.

I am new to photography in general so i would appreciate some pointers as to what to look for.

Attached Images

08-06-2010, 12:29 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Your first step in photography is to get the technicalities right. In this shot, you've got slight overexposure, blurriness, and excessive grain. To correct these, you'd want to shoot at a lower ISO, use a -1/3 EV shift, and a smaller aperture. Once you've got that squared away, the next step is to focus on artistic aspects such as image composition and special effects.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
08-06-2010, 12:59 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
Your first step in photography is to get the technicalities right. In this shot, you've got slight overexposure, blurriness, and excessive grain. To correct these, you'd want to shoot at a lower ISO, use a -1/3 EV shift, and a smaller aperture. Once you've got that squared away, the next step is to focus on artistic aspects such as image composition and special effects.