Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2010, 12:49 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Water Wheel
Lens: smc 18-55mm Camera: K-x Photo Location: Arkansas ISO: 800 Shutter Speed: 1/500s Aperture: F8 

This was taken on route 62 between Pocahontas and Hardy.
Tell me what you think!

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 

Last edited by notsowise; 08-10-2010 at 04:51 PM. Reason: wrong size
08-10-2010, 10:52 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Welcome to the forums..

Your photo... I'm no expert and you'll probably get 10 different opinions but here is mine.

I don't know if the structures are tilted or if your photo is. For me, it's a bit over-exposed as well. Straighten things up a bit and dial down the exposure some and you'll have a good starting point. From there, I'll let somebody else chime in..

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo 

Last edited by JeffJS; 08-10-2010 at 10:59 PM.
08-11-2010, 05:18 AM   #3
Inactive Account

i actually prefer the overexposed one, looks more painterly, less perfect

you've obeyed rule of thirds composition so that's good, but i'd have maybe shot it from closer in and from lower down, and maybe on a tilt- so the sky is in the shot- think it would have sold the effect a little better
08-11-2010, 09:34 AM   #4
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan

At first I didn't care much for the shot....no particular reason...it was a little overexposed for my taste. But.....after playing with it for a few minutes I kind of like it after all!