Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-20-2010, 08:59 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Humming Birds
Lens: QTII 1.4-5.6 70-210MM Camera: K-x Photo Location: Backyard 

My mom has a ton of trumpet vines and during this time of year, we get lots of humming birds.

I'm new to DSLR photography and I'm looking for some opinions and constructive criticism. A bit of editing (contrast and brightness) was done because I'm not always happy with how the color comes out when I use these lenses... they're not my favorite, but they're the biggest zoom I've got, so I use them. Both were also cropped down quite a bit.

Please let me know what you think, thanks!

Attached Images

08-20-2010, 11:37 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
In the second one, you contrast is ok but it looks like you've missed the focus a little bit. Could also be that it's 2:30am and I'm just plain tired. I see some purple fringing where the branches meet the bright background of the sky. That's a common problem that I find quite often, a slight adjustment in white balance can take care of.

With the first one, I think it needs more contrast to separate the bird from the almost same color background. If I may.. It's not perfect by any stretch, I could do much more with an original PEF or DNG file but to illustrate a little bit..

Attached Images

08-21-2010, 06:57 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Julie,

Successful hummingbird shots require sharpness, a frame-filling long lens, a moderate depth of field, a non-distracting background, and a lens that has minimal optical defects that can distract.