Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-18-2010, 02:33 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
PP Practice on a fire hydrant
Lens: M 50mm f1.7 Camera: K-x ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/45s Aperture: F5.6 

As I am still relatively new to taking photographs over snapshots, this was more a matter of practice on post processing, as opposed to framing, finding good subjects, or simply shooting for fun. It's another gloomy Chicago day and I figured I'd take the afternoon to practice. I realize post process is a "learn-by-doing", however, any input is greatly appreciated. I feel I tend to over process (it's like a new toy), and I'm trying to find the right balance of bringing the image to life, to my vision, and completely butchering it.

Original:

Post Process:

Input is appreaciated.

09-18-2010, 03:38 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You did a pretty fair job bringing it back from the over-exposed photo. I would however, move the crop down some to include the entire hydrant and lose some of the space on the top. That is, unless there's a good reason to Have the top space, which I don't see in your photo.

09-18-2010, 04:31 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by JeffJS Quote
You did a pretty fair job bringing it back from the over-exposed photo. I would however, move the crop down some to include the entire hydrant and lose some of the space on the top. That is, unless there's a good reason to Have the top space, which I don't see in your photo.

Thanks. I was reading that it's better to slightly over expose than under, so I wanted to test the theory.