Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-01-2010, 07:33 AM   #1

Minimal mist
Lens: DA* 16-50 Camera: K200D Photo Location: Harjattula, Turku 

ISO: 280, 1/500, f/8.0 @ 16mm

I started photography school a month ago and said to our teachers that I'd like to get real critique from my pictures not just "This is nice" kind of comments, that kind of comment won't help me improve my pictures. I'm still learning to process my pictures (lightroom & photoshop), that's one of the reasons I went to that school.

This was processed with lightroom 3.

1920px:
http://horsthelmut.kuvat.fi/kuvat/Maisemaa/Usva/usva-3.jpg/full

Thank you in advance.
-HenrikM.

Edit: I still see few specks of dust in the picture. My 16-50 should get cleaned completely, quite a lot dust inside it...

10-01-2010, 08:27 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good balance between dark foreground and light background here. You may want to play around with different crops to see if it stands up to being cropped a bit tighter.
10-01-2010, 09:06 AM   #3
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan

I guess that for the purpose of a minimalist shot, it is well done, which is similar to "nice" but not quite the same. There are some here that are true critics, (Ash is very good!) with a background in such, and with good advice and keen eyes for the technical and the the aesthetics of a particular photo.

I am not that kind of critic....I am just a lowly Plumber with a camera, and an eye (sometimes?) for what "regular people" I know, and I know plenty, seem to like in their photos. What pleases us is not always what pleases the "Herd". Having said that, I look at a shot and always ask this question.....if properly printed and hung in the proper environment , would it catch an eye.......would it solicit that word "Nice!"

Now, your shot although well done, would most likely cause Old Granny to say "What's that?" LOL!