Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-04-2010, 04:00 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Outdoor flash use - people
Lens: DA*16-50/2.8 Camera: K7 Photo Location: Riviere du Loup, Qué ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/1000s Aperture: F3.5 

Here is the first of a series of photos taken outside with flash (AF-540FGZ);
Av mode used; Flash=P-TTL (on HSS); Exposure bias -0.3EV; spot metering; at 50mm; White balance =Auto; ISO=320 (could not find this number in choices);

Please folks, this is my very FIRST attempt at this.
I realize already that the pic is underexposed, slightly out of focus too.

I use two monitors ... the skin tones seem reddish on one monitor (the one I use most) while skin tones look more natural on my "data" monitor.
This probably means that my main monitor needs calibrating but I don't have the equipment to do this.

Anyway, fire away at will and if you do offer to make changes, please detail what has been done so I can learn better.

Thanks!

JP

Last edited by jpzk; 10-16-2015 at 05:39 PM.
10-04-2010, 04:32 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Was flash on or off camera? I'm no flash expert, but if it was on camera, I think you did good. Usually any on camera flash shots you see are flat / washed out looking. Not bad for a first go at it.
10-04-2010, 07:29 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by eccs19 Quote
Was flash on or off camera? I'm no flash expert, but if it was on camera, I think you did good. Usually any on camera flash shots you see are flat / washed out looking. Not bad for a first go at it.
Flash was on camera.

Now, you have just made a good point and maybe this would have been better wireless, away from the camera.

I am trying to figure out how much "light" I have to get out of the flash so that I can have only what's needed, in the right a amount, for "fill-in".