Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-11-2010, 12:19 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Pregnancy
Lens: 35-105 Camera: K-x Photo Location: NC ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/200s Aperture: F3.5 

Hi-

Looking for critique on this. Two things I see in first are (1) He's not looking at the camera and (2) I don't like her hair outline against the black rocks.

This is my first attempt at shooting pregnancy pictures.

Attached Images

Last edited by clarkebd; 11-11-2010 at 12:47 PM.
11-11-2010, 12:34 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
It is pretty soft, and the crop does not work too well...
11-11-2010, 01:43 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A different background, possibly trees, and a tighter crop and a vertical format might work a little better.
11-11-2010, 02:38 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Intimacy is not conveyed in both pictures. You are too far away--they look like strangers to the photographer. Their body language is too stilted also.

Perhaps a contributing factor is that your set is a public space which could inhibit most couples. Most of these kind of shots are taken in a controlled environment indoors. Perhaps their place with suitable lighting would work better.

M

11-11-2010, 04:25 PM   #5
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Miguel Quote
Intimacy is not conveyed in both pictures. You are too far away--they look like strangers to the photographer. Their body language is too stilted also.

Perhaps a contributing factor is that your set is a public space which could inhibit most couples. Most of these kind of shots are taken in a controlled environment indoors. Perhaps their place with suitable lighting would work better.

M
+1 on that thought. I guess that, that is the sort of feeling that we as portraitists need to try to produce. It is a learned skill, we aren't born with it. It's as much a matter of proper staging as it is lighting or technical photographic skills. Good luck!