Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-16-2011, 11:04 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
distant sailboat
Lens: 18-55wr Camera: k-7 Photo Location: pleasure point ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/3000s Aperture: F8 

I'm a PP novice. I kinda like this photo and feel like it could be really neat. Cheesy, yes, but I happen to like cheese. The first is the original. The second one is what I did real quick, cropped and some other thing. I'm curious to hear what others would do with this. Thanks, guys!

01-16-2011, 11:45 PM   #2
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by ChatMechant Quote
I'm a PP novice. I kinda like this photo and feel like it could be really neat. Cheesy, yes, but I happen to like cheese. The first is the original. The second one is what I did real quick, cropped and some other thing. I'm curious to hear what others would do with this. Thanks, guys!
Other PP aside, I'd change the crop ratio a bit - it doesn't need to stay the same as out-of-camera, really...
Especially if you're not printing it.

The second pic is closer to what I'd do - but I'd leave the whole left side as is, crop out almost all of the dark forground rocks, leaving just those two little ones. Set the watcher around the 1/3 mark.
01-17-2011, 02:31 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not my thing. I'd discard it!
01-17-2011, 03:22 AM   #4
juu
Veteran Member

Composition wise, with a 16:9 aspect ratio (cropping off bottom and top), the second one could work. However, I don't think there is enough right going on with the picture and the main thing that works is the young female doing the watching.